Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Insiders Blog Stay informed on the latest happenings in satellite radio. With news, events, products and reviews, we bring you the highlights of the SIRIUS Universe and beyond.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 12-26-2006, 05:20 PM   #1
BenDee
Sirius Star
 
BenDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 19, 2003
Location: West Bumblef*ck, NY
Posts: 6,749
BenDee will become famous soon enough
Default Live Concerts Galore on Sirius for New Year's Eve

Want some programming to spice up your party? Sitting at home with a bottle of champagne and a microwave dinner? Sirius has something for everyone with a bajillion concerts being broadcast(mostly) live. Including the Beach Boys, Buffett with Freddy and the Fishsticks, Commodores, Patti Smith Band, Chris Issak, Big and Rich, My Morning Jacket, String Cheese Incident and more:

THE BEACH BOYS

America’s pre-eminent pop group will be broadcast LIVE from the Luxor Theatre, Las Vegas, NV

(‘60s Vibrations, channel 6 – Jan. 1 @ 12:30 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 9:30 pm PT)



FREDDY & THE FISHSTICKS

A rare club show from Jimmy Buffett’s “other” band! Re-broadcast of Dec. 22, 2006 concert at the Belly Up in Aspen, CO (Radio Margaritaville, channel 31 – Dec. 31 @ 11 pm ET/8 pm PT)



THE COMMODORES

Classic funk and R&B band broadcast LIVE from Resorts International, Atlantic City, NJ

(Soul Town, channel 53 – Dec. 31 @ 10:45 pm ET/7:45 pm PT)



PATTI SMITH AND HER BAND

Punk rock’s poet laureate in her annual New Year’s Eve show LIVE from Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY

(SIRIUS Disorder, channel 24 – Dec. 31 @ 11 pm ET/8 pm PT)



CHRIS ISAAK

Roots rocker and crooner Chris Isaak and his band will be LIVE from Belly Up, Aspen, CO

(The Spectrum, channel 18 – Jan. 1 @ 12:45 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 9:45 pm PT)



BIG AND RICH

The hot country duo’s concert at the inaugural Rock n’ The Rally Festival at Sturgis Bike Week in South Dakota (New Country, channel 60 – Dec. 31 @ 11 pm ET/ 8 pm PT)



MY MORNING JACKET

Talked-about Kentucky alt-rock band will be LIVE from the Fillmore, San Francisco, CA

(Left of Center, channel 26 – Jan. 1 @ 1:30 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 10:30 pm PT)



THE WHO

On the SIRIUS channel dedicated to the rock legends, a broadcast of their July 2002 show at the Gorge in George, WA (The Who Channel, channel 10 – Dec. 31 @ 9 pm ET/6 pm PT)



CRYSTAL METHOD

Los Angeles’ dance-based electronic duo broadcast LIVE from Ruby Skye, San Francisco, CA

(Boombox, channel 34 - Jan. 1 @ 2:55 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 11:55 pm PT)



DASHBOARD CONFESSIONAL

Emo legends Dashboard Confessional’s SIRIUS performance, and interview with frontman Chris Carrabba (Alt Nation, channel 21 – Dec. 31 @ 10 pm ET/7 pm PT)



SHEMEKIA COPELAND

The acclaimed, GRAMMY®-nominated blues singer LIVE from Buddy Guy’s, Chicago, IL

(SIRIUS Blues, channel 74 – Jan. 1 @ 12 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 9 pm PT)



STRING CHEESE INCIDENT

Popular bluegrass-based jam band will be LIVE from Concourse Center, San Francisco, CA

(Jam On, channel 17 – Jan. 1 @ 2:45 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 11:45 pm PT)



GALACTIC

New Orleans jazz-funk ensemble will be LIVE from Tipitina’s in their home town, New Orleans, LA

(Jam On, channel 17 – Jan. 1 @ 12:30 am ET/Dec. 31 @ 9:30 pm PT)

HATEBREED

The hot metal band will be LIVE from Toad’s Place in their home town, New Haven, CT

(Hard Attack, channel 27 – Dec. 31 @ 11 pm ET/8 pm PT)

LUCAS PRATA

The dance music singer-songwriter from Queens, NY will be LIVE from Mirage, Westbury, NY

(The Beat, channel 36 – Dec. 31 @ 11:30 pm ET/8:30 pm PT)
BenDee is offline  
 
 
Old 12-26-2006, 05:35 PM   #2
TheScionicMan
Sirius Star
 
TheScionicMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 14, 2006
Location: In the Hot Tub
Posts: 8,433
TheScionicMan has a spectacular aura aboutTheScionicMan has a spectacular aura about
Default

Don't forget Artie Lange on Howard 100/101 on New Year's from his show in Philly.

11:45PM EST on Howard 100
11:45PM PST on Howard 101


Hey Now!
__________________
--------------------------------

LUABASI
TheScionicMan is offline  
 
 
Old 12-27-2006, 02:21 PM   #3
MCWHAMMER
Rocket Scientist
Live Concerts Galore on Sirius for New Year's Eve
 
MCWHAMMER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 25, 2006
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 533
MCWHAMMER will become famous soon enough
Thumbs up

Wow, that's an excellent line-up, it's going to be hard to catch all of those performances, but it's good that it covers all generations of music fans. I like Beach Boys and the newer bands listed, so I will have a lot to listen to for New Year's.

Thanks for posting this.
__________________
MCWHAMMER is offline  
 
 
Old 12-27-2006, 07:25 PM   #4
Road Hog
Sirius Star
 
Road Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 29, 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,030
Road Hog will become famous soon enough
Default

It's good to see Sirius finally doing New Years Eve right.

Although, is a Beach Boys show really the Beach Boys anymore? The original lineup consisted of the three Wilson Brothers (Brian, Dennis, and Carl), cousin Mike Love, and friend Al Jardine.

Brian and Al don't tour with the Beach Boys any more. Dennis and Carl are no longer alive. So it's basically a Mike Love concert.

But I'll try to check out some of the other shows. Are there any original Commodores left?
Road Hog is offline  
 
 
Old 12-27-2006, 10:04 PM   #5
RoadRunner
Top Dog Member
Live Concerts Galore on Sirius for New Year's Eve
 
RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 21, 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 4,581
RoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to RoadRunner Send a message via MSN to RoadRunner
Default

Quote:
Are there any original Commodores left?
Good question! I'm open to any corrections, but it appears to me and my mad Googlin' skillz that the lineup has only changed since 1971 for the departure of Lionel Ritchie, and this summers death of Milan Williams.
RoadRunner is offline  
 
 
Old 12-28-2006, 03:31 PM   #6
RoadRunner
Top Dog Member
Live Concerts Galore on Sirius for New Year's Eve
 
RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 21, 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 4,581
RoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the roughRoadRunner is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via AIM to RoadRunner Send a message via MSN to RoadRunner
Default

Just added...
The Shady New Year Special
Sun 12/31 8:00 pm ET
Join Eminem as he states the facts and plays the tracks: he’ll be counting down 25 of his favorite hip-hop records exclusively on Shade 45! 2006 ended on a high note for Em with the triumphant chart-topping release of The Re-Up compilation, and the celebration will continue this New Year’s Eve! As Em explains, “This is not THE definitive top 25 list because that’s just too damn hard! But, these 25 songs are definitely up there as my favorites.” Make sure to party with the boss himself EMINEM, and listen to his 25 hip-hop favorites on New Year’s Eve and have yourself a very Shady New Year!!!

Rebroadcast: Sun., Dec. 31st @ 10 pm ET & Mon., Jan. 1st @ 12 am, 12 pm, 2 pm & 8 pm ET.
RoadRunner is offline  
 
 
Old 12-28-2006, 07:57 PM   #7
goreds2
Sirius Star
 
goreds2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 27, 2005
Location: XM Country
Posts: 2,056
goreds2 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up

I have to admit, that is a very good New Years Eve Lineup.

THE COMMODORES should be a great show.
__________________
* On My IGNORE List: Jgatie

** Jgatie quote to me: "Start sticking your pointy little head in where it doesn't belong and I'll get a mod to go all xzi on your ass. That's a promise."

http://www.sirius.com/thevirus

MEL: Please add RADIO MARGARITAVILLE to Best of SIRIUS package.

* Eddie and TRACY Radio Show 3pm-6pm est. on XM173 (WLW)

Two XM MyFi's (One for son / One for me with BEST OF SIRIUS)
One XM Delphi In Home Repeater
One SIRIUS Stratus 4 in Mrs. goreds2 Car
goreds2 is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SIRIUS Satellite Radio Adds UEFA Champions League Soccer KTMC SIRIUS Sports 8 12-18-2006 06:17 PM
More Live Concerts on Sirius satradfan SIRIUS Music 5 11-26-2005 07:00 PM
3rd Quarter Results RUFUSBIGBUCKS The Street 15 11-02-2005 02:37 PM
Holiday, New Year, and End of Year Programming RyanM SIRIUS Music 9 12-26-2004 07:29 PM
SIRIUS to Broadcast Live From IBMA Awards TulaneJeff Insiders Blog 2 10-02-2004 05:06 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.