Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Install Garage & Help Desk You've got the radio, now which cable goes where? Got questions about factory installed radios in your car? Ask any installation or help questions here and someone will get to you soon.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 01-06-2007, 07:38 PM   #1
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...

Have not seen anyone post a review yet...

I installed a Stiletto car dock in my wife's 1998 Chrysler minivan using the PVK1 Pro-Kit today. I also used a cassette adapter and hid the wire behind the dash while I did this.

Kit includes:
FM Direct relay
Universal mount bracket
Swivel mount
Hardwire voltage regulator for 5VDC and 12VDC radios
Power wires for 5VDC and 12VDC radios
2-Amp Blade type inline fuse and holder
Wire butt connector and 3 wire clips
Nylon wire loom, about 6-8 inck length
3.5MM to RCA cable for AUX in headunits



Kit does NOT include:
Wire splice connector for splicing to hot wire
Screws for mounting the FM Relay or Power converter
Wire ties

Overall the kit was easy to install, and made the overall installation look much cleaner. I mounted the Relay and Power converters behind the climate control panel with Velcro pads. It took a little work to push the right angle connectors through the wire loom, but it bundled all 4 of my wires nicely. If you push both ends of the loom together it gets fatter, pull on it and it narrows (think "chinese finger cuffs")and when you are finished it may need a little trimming. After the wires were connected to the dock I used a small wire tie to keep the loom in place, and trimmed the excess with scissors.

The inline fuse holder only had a few inches of wire on each side, and the power adapter only has a foot or so. If you run back to the fuse box you will need additional wire. I spliced into the lighter wires, but had to supply the splice connector. The ground lead on the converter already had an eyelet attached, but no screw.

While the voltage converter is short on wire the FM relay is not. I only needed around 10 inches of wire, and had to find room for a large roll of excess.

Because I had already purchased a Panavise Indash mount for the van I did not use the universal mount. The directions say it can be bent to fit most vehicles, but it is pretty stiff. I also did not need the swivel, but it seemed to be somewhat decent.

PROS-
Hardwired power for 12VDC or 5VDC radios
FM Direct Relay for less static
RCA cable for AUX in use
Dash mount swivel bracket

CONS-
Not enough power wire
No inline splice connector
No screws
Way to much wire on the FM relay

It makes for a professional looking installation, and may be intended for installation shops only. As a main stream product (on the shelf at Circuit City) they should mention the possible need for additional wire and screws.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html

Last edited by VDCHawk; 01-07-2007 at 10:41 AM..
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 10:40 AM   #2
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

Installation pics...


I plan on getting some thin double stick to keep the cassette wire straight across the face of the radio. Because the power is hard wired I still have my "Power Outlet" available visable in lower corner of picture.

The wire loom hides the 4 wires connected to the base of the dock.


The wire loom looked better, until I had to remove and reinstall a defective car dock.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html

Last edited by VDCHawk; 01-07-2007 at 10:43 AM..
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 05:03 PM   #3
obk
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 16, 2006
Posts: 500
obk is on a distinguished road
Default

I am probably missing something, but why use the fm modulator and the tape adaptor. don't they both do the same thing?
I only use the fm modulator and it works fine (don't have the option of a tape since I have a cd player in the car).
obk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 06:24 PM   #4
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

For this install it was just to test it, I had never used the FM relay before.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 07:01 PM   #5
me_rubin
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
me_rubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 17, 2006
Location: Herndon VA
Posts: 3,545
me_rubin is a jewel in the roughme_rubin is a jewel in the roughme_rubin is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to me_rubin Send a message via Yahoo to me_rubin PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VDCHawk
Installation pics...

The wire loom hides the 4 wires connected to the base of the dock.


The wire loom looked better, until I had to remove and reinstall a defective car dock.
I like the way the wire loom works. I didn't need anything like that because I was able to hide my wires under my mount. I have one question.

Behind your mount between the car dock and the mount is that plastic clip with the curved piece sticking out the side. What is that? What is it used for? I never used mine.
me_rubin is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 07:20 PM   #6
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

That would be the finger grip, I guess if the mount were wobbly or swiveled it would be important. You hold the grip with your fingers, and operate the controls with your thumb.

The Panavise mount is rock solid, and at $22 from my local dealer cheaper than some of the other mounts I looked at. I am waiting for the Subaru specific one to come in and I will be doing this all over again.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 07:30 PM   #7
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Looks very nice Hawk. The Panavise In-Dash works well with your setup. I think it is because your head unit is so much higher up than mine is. The Panavise was just too much in the way of passengers in my truck.

Thanks for sharing your installation pics with us.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 07:37 PM   #8
HomieG
Sirius Star
 
HomieG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 06, 2006
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Posts: 1,431
HomieG is on a distinguished road
Default

Those are nice mounts. I was shopping for a Pro-Fit VSM for my brother in law last week. I bought mine and his from these folks. There prices are great, even with shipping tacked on. I have no interest in this company, other than I've saved quite a few bucks on these mounts:

http://search.store.yahoo.com/cgi-bi...ory+search.y=0

I usually go here to find the mount model first:
http://www.pro-fit-intl.com/ColdFusi...patibility.cfm
__________________
- Homie
Lifetime Sirius Subscriber

Originally Posted by atlwxman: "I love Sirius...but in my car, not in my portfolio."

Originally Posted by Andrew-NYC: "...Just make a radio that gets both services, and there will be no need for the merger!"


Current Sirius radios:
Brix Streamer Replay
XACT "Visor"
XACT XTR8 Replay

Last edited by HomieG; 01-07-2007 at 07:42 PM..
HomieG is offline  
 
 
Old 01-07-2007, 08:03 PM   #9
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

Need to go with the Panavise, the Pro-Fit chart does not include my car/radio combination for the Subaru. When I stopped by the local dealer he only had the van one in stock, so the van got installed first.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-08-2007, 03:12 PM   #10
jasoncardenas21
Loyal Listener
 
jasoncardenas21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 03, 2007
Location: Hawthorne, NV
Posts: 157
jasoncardenas21 is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow, my install in my 98 truck is almost exactly the same, I did the same with the tape adapter just in case. All wires are hidden too. I'll post pics later. Great Job
jasoncardenas21 is offline  
 
 
Old 01-08-2007, 05:46 PM   #11
jwt873
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
jwt873's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 2,600
jwt873 has a spectacular aura aboutjwt873 has a spectacular aura aboutjwt873 has a spectacular aura about
Thumbs up

Somehow I missed this topic first time around.. Good install and good review..
jwt873 is offline  
 
 
Old 01-09-2007, 03:48 PM   #12
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

Price at Crutchfield is $25.49, beats the $39.99 I paid at Circuit City. Just ordered a second kit for my next install.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
Old 01-30-2007, 02:07 PM   #13
Celt1997
Channel Surfer
 
Join Date: Jan 02, 2007
Posts: 76
Celt1997 is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyone know if there is a .pdf out there showing the install guide for this? I'm thinking of getting this kit for my Ranger, but I'm not sure how the 5V hardwire works, and I'd like to see a diagram of the whole setup prior to putting up the money.

Thanks.
Celt1997 is offline  
 
 
Old 01-30-2007, 07:11 PM   #14
VDCHawk
Top Dog Member
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
 
VDCHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, 2006
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 1,374
VDCHawk will become famous soon enoughVDCHawk will become famous soon enough
Default

The manual stinks, but here's a link... http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Man...607SIRPVK1.PDF

Feel free to ask, I can try to answer. I also have one sitting on my desk waiting for slightly warmer weather to install. If you would like a picture of a component I can take one for you.
__________________
2 SL100s, Home and Car docks
Internet stream on Samsung SCH-i760

Verizon FiOS, Fiber-Faster-Cheaper Now with TV (Multi-Room DVR rocks)
PVK1 Pro-Kit review, 5V Hardwire-FM Relay-More...
See why you should be folding@home http://www.teamshort-media.com/videos/foldflash2.html
VDCHawk is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JVC KD-AVX2 (DAB) Updated Pics & Review (Sirius & iPod Adapter) DAB Radios & Receivers 160 05-05-2007 02:58 AM
XM Puts $50 Million Creative Ad Account in Review candlebougie* Galaxy Nation 1 07-21-2006 03:11 PM
JVC KD-AR5500 Review GMCSierra Radios & Receivers 8 06-23-2006 11:10 PM
CD Review: "Glider" by The Mike Dalton Band Manco SIRIUS Music 3 10-12-2005 06:05 PM
Kenwood DT-7000S Review by Professor Dave Professor Dave Radios & Receivers 44 01-18-2004 07:46 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.