Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Radios & Receivers This is the place to talk about all the high-tech SIRIUS radios: Kenwood, Pioneer, Clarion, JVC, Alpine, Audiovox, Sony, XACT, and more!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 01:30 AM   #1
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB

I picked up the Audiovox Shuttle, along with the FM Transmitter Car Cradle and the Home Cradle.

Car setup was very easy with the FM Transmitter Cradle. The cradle will also allow you to plug it in via aux input if your head unit support this, but perhaps you have an occasional need to use the FM Transmitter.

Once I got the antenna plugged in, along with the power, I put my Head Unit on 88.5 as was the FM Transmit Cradle. I hit the power button and immediately it came on and I was rather taken back by the size of the screen and the clarity of the text. It immediately said.. WAIT, which I new was the streams list downloading. It took about 4 or 5 minutes for this to happen. Once it completed it immediately was tuned to stream 184. The preview stream seemed loud and clear. I then called SIRIUS and subscribed the Unit. Finding the ESN was a simple as holding down the MODE button and then click on Radio ID. This process took about 5 minutes and then I seen Subscription Updated. Immediately I switched around through a few channels. Not only using Categories, but just switching channels using the wheel knob. Streams changed immediately and text was updated immediately. NICE!!!

DISPLAY:
I find the display to be really nice. The light blue, almost white color with the darker text has great contrast. The text is crisp, clean and clear. The size of the text is much larger than the H2A even on the text that is smaller. You have three modes of displaying text. Mode one give you Larger Text for Artist/Composer, with smaller text for song. Mode two, Larger Text for Song, with Smaller text for Artist/Composer via two lines of text. Only the larger text line scrolls the other one does not, even though the text may be long enough for it to. The third mode is Large Text and it really is LARGE TEXT, which scrolls artist and song in a single line and can be seen across the room very easily. The display has an always on antenna strength meter, it shows the Category, Stream Name, Stream Number and Preset known as FAV-A, B, C. I am very impressed with the text, but was disappointed that when in two line mode you can have either only the artist or the song scroll but not both.

FM TRANSMITTER:
I picked a frequency that was unused in my area and I found the transmitter cradle worked very well. I used it for about 2 hours on a trip and went through several cities, around power plants, power lines and even cell towers, but I never noticed a single bit of interference or noise. I do have an external antenna on my truck, so it picked up the signal that was being transmitted by the cradle incredibly well. No more batteries for that iRock FM Transmitter. The output level on the Transmitter was remarkably loud.

SOUND:
I then plugged the Car Cradle using the RCA Aux Input into my head unit. It was rather surprised because though I expected there to be a dramatic difference between it and the FM Transmitter, it was only slightly better. There was no diffference in the levels between the two as far as how loud one or the other was. But the balance between highs and lows was GREAT. I tweaked my settings on my Head Unit and I'll tell you I am most impressed. The sound is as good as the H2A and better than 1 generation equipment, but of course that is subjective. I also plugged the unit into the Home Cradle and I was also very pleased with sound coming out of my Home Theater system.

FEATURES:
There is an Aiming Feature to help you aim your Home Antenna or maybe even help you place your antenna on your automobile. It has like a 10 bar level for antenna strength. In my truck I get 9 and here at home I get 8 or 9. You can adjust the brightness, contrast of the display. You can turn the output level up or down. You have to turn the FM Transmitter on or off. You also have to turn the Memory Feature on or off. The Memory Feature, works good. You just save an artist and song to memory. If you have the feature on, it will open a dialog up asking if you want to switch to that stream. Pretty Neat!!! You can also turn the confirmation tone on and off. This is a tone that is heard when you switch streams etc. There is a method of skipping unwanted streams and then locking down your choices where they can't be changed without a passcode.

REMOTE CONTROL:
Full function, buttons feel solid and there seems to be a wider infrared band, as it doesn't seem necessary to point it directly at the unit, but close. You can do anything with the remote that you can do on the front of the unit.

QUALITY:
The Shuttle is not real light, but feels well made. The buttons are a good size, the wheel knob turns with good tension on it. The display and buttons light up for great night viewing. In brite light, its almost like the background changes color from the light blue, but the text remains dark, which makes it easy to read. Bright Light viewing is better on the SSR than on either the H2A or Skifi. The cradles are well made and appear to be corrugated plastic . Though I have not mounted the car cradle, it seems pretty easy, though with several methods of installation. I would recommend a profit type kit for the best installation. The home kit is nice and has just the right tilt to it for good viewing when sitting close to it at your desk. I just can't see any flaws in this unit in terms of quality. The SRS does run a bit warm, but doesn't appear to get HOT as had been described about the H2A. It is larger than the Skifi, but not significantly, but some may take issue with this.

Overall I am very happy with the Audiovox Shuttle and I think Audiovox took the time to do it right. I'd recommend this unit for anyone looking for this form factor style of plug and play.

How did it stack up to the Kenwood H2A. I have to give the Audiovox the nod on its display. Since I don't have the greatest vision, especially without my glasses, I really appreciate the bigger display screen and text. Sound, reception and overall quality is a draw. Its great that SIRIUS has two different form factors for plug and play units to pick from. Bringing the Audiovox Shuttle back will be very difficult and I am not sure that I will. I like it just that much. Looks like I've got one of each now.

If you have a question... just ask.. I hope this helps if you are on the fence or unsure which one to get. You can't loose with either one. Though your experiences will vary, so the only way to know is to buy one and try it yourself.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 01:47 AM   #2
BenDee
Sirius Star
 
BenDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 19, 2003
Location: West Bumblef*ck, NY
Posts: 6,749
BenDee will become famous soon enough
Default

DAB: how would it (objectively) rate against the Skifi?
BenDee is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 01:49 AM   #3
Manco
Top Dog Member
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
Manco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 30, 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 15,450
Manco will become famous soon enoughManco will become famous soon enough
Default

Dabster thank you for your excellent and thorough review! I don't think you left any question of mine unanswered...at least for now. I was worried about the sound quality given one of the other reviews, buy your review suggests there isn't something fundamentally wrong with the transmitter which makes me sigh with relief as a stockholder and potential future customer.

Just a question about your purchasing experience. Is there anything you can share about the sales people's attitude towards Sirius and the Shuttle, and how much inventory they got initially.

Thanks again!
Manco is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:01 AM   #4
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriusatn67
DAB: how would it (objectively) rate against the Skifi?
I don't want to start an XM vs SIRIUS war here, but to be honest with you. I have personally never been that impressed with the sound or the display of the Skifi. The Skifi while its large and easy to read in most cases, its noisy too, if you don't have it tilted just right the contrast makes it hard to read. Its also terrible in direct or bright light. The Audiovox does not have either of these problems. Sound of course is so darn subjective. So, let me just say for my ears, I find the Audiovox does a great job of good separation, with a good balance between highs and lows or covering the total audio spectrum. The Skifi is heavy on bass and not so good on highs, so its just not as well balanced. There you have it.

The Skifi is lighter and overall is a quality made little unit.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:06 AM   #5
BenDee
Sirius Star
 
BenDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 19, 2003
Location: West Bumblef*ck, NY
Posts: 6,749
BenDee will become famous soon enough
Default

One more question: what do you think of the H2A in bright sunlight compared to the SRS?
BenDee is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:15 AM   #6
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manco_lives
Just a question about your purchasing experience. Is there anything you can share about the sales people's attitude towards Sirius and the Shuttle, and how much inventory they got initially.

I should have mentioned this in my review. But my buying experience was also good. I walked into Circuit City in Lafayette, La. The guy asked me if he could help me as he seen me looking at the display of Kenwood Unit and Audiovox Units. He asked me if I was interested in SIRIUS or XM, because the units I was looking at were for SIRIUS. I said.. SIRIUS is what I am interested in. He says, good choice, we have all this new equipment in for them. He then explained to me the difference between the Audiovox and Kenwood Plug and Plays. He even knew the Audiovox had the built in transmitter and told me the Kenwood would require either an FM Mod or an iRock FM Transmitter. Then he said direct connect is the best though. I was really surprised that he knew so much. I then said. Do you have SIRIUS yourself. He said.. YES I DO in fact I have the Kenwood unit. He then walked away letting me look a few, then came back and said. If you buy the all three pieces the two kits, home car and tuner, I can give you $15.00 off. He even opened the car FM Tranmit kit for me to look at, because I thought it had an antenna for the transmitter, but it does not. Another thing, he gave me a card with his name and number and asked me to call him and let him know how it worked. Oh yeah.. he also told me that if I got suscribed online it was only $5.00 and $15.00 if I call, he gave me a stream guide, then told me I had 30 days if for some reason I change my mind or have a problem. He did try to sell me the extended warranty, but they are trained to do that. He was very polite and even helped me carry my boxes out to my truck. I was well pleased....
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:18 AM   #7
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriusatn67
One more question: what do you think of the H2A in bright sunlight compared to the SRS?
I'd have to give the nod to the SRS, the dark text on the light blue background does better in the direct sunlight than the light blue text on a dark background, but the text is larger too, so this helps as well.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:23 AM   #8
Manco
Top Dog Member
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
Manco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 30, 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 15,450
Manco will become famous soon enoughManco will become famous soon enough
Default

Dabster, I'm impressed, it sounds like you got a very knowledgable sales person. I think the days of clueless salesman is slowly but surely coming to an end. I think the Shuttle + H2A will even cause the most avid XM sales person to take notice.

One more question, what are the first 4 digits of your new activation number if you don't mind? It should be something like 1147xxx. This apparantly is a proxy for the total subscription count. If you drop the first digit and then subtract around 128,000 from the number, this is a close approximation for how many subs they have.
Manco is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:35 AM   #9
Manco
Top Dog Member
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
Manco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 30, 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 15,450
Manco will become famous soon enoughManco will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DABSter
He even opened the car FM Tranmit kit for me to look at, because I thought it had an antenna for the transmitter, but it does not.
The pictures posted on this website showed a very large antenna on the side. Is it safe to assume that the antenna is internal to the cradle, or did you have to purchase a seperate antenna?
Manco is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:48 AM   #10
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manco_lives
The pictures posted on this website showed a very large antenna on the side. Is it safe to assume that the antenna is internal to the cradle, or did you have to purchase a seperate antenna?
Yes, it must be internal, because I sure don't have an antenna for it and I didn't have to buy one and it transmits good from what I can tell so far. Of course the antenna for reception via the kit comes with it. Just wanted to clarify that so no one would get confused.

Also on your activation # question. I did a swap out on another radio I had, so its not really a new activation.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 10:20 AM   #11
superdoppler
Loyal Listener
 
Join Date: Jun 02, 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 154
superdoppler is on a distinguished road
Default

I also wondered where the external antenna was when I opened the box. It's good that they made it internal since it's one less thing to break off while you're driving around.
superdoppler is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 11:00 AM   #12
Professor Dave
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Apr 13, 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 726
Professor Dave is on a distinguished road
Default

Dab...

Can you give us a home test comparison? Put the Audiovox and H2A head to head on your home stereo. I'm most interested in sound quality

Thanks

Dave
Professor Dave is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 01:55 PM   #13
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdoppler
I also wondered where the external antenna was when I opened the box. It's good that they made it internal since it's one less thing to break off while you're driving around.
Yes, I was looking for it too because of the pictures I had seen, but then on the Audiovox web site I noticed there was no antenna, but then I thought that was just the picture of the one that did not have the FM Tranmitter. It would have been really ugly to see a big ole antenna sticking up on the cradle, so this was a good move in my opinion.

Also did some more testing today... I was able to setup the car FM Tranmitter Cradle in the house. Every room in my house was able to get good FM Reception with no static. Between songs if there was a pause, I heard nothing but silence. Even out on my patio. Just out of curiosity I went to the truck and low and behold it picked up the signal in there. Seems to be a pretty darn good FM Tranmitter from what I can tell.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 02:18 PM   #14
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor Dave
Can you give us a home test comparison? Put the Audiovox and H2A head to head on your home stereo. I'm most interested in sound quality
Dave,

I did some testing this morning out of my own curiosity, cause when I wrote the review I had not done much in the house as of yet.

I plugged both in via the RCA Cable that I have running from my desk to the Kenwood Home Theater Receiver for testing. So hook up is a snap, just a matter of attaching the antenna and locating it in a good spot for reception and of course power. This Audiovox home cradle just like the H2A home cradle has the external power adapter.

The Audiovox SRS makes a thumping sound through the receiver when you first power it up. The Kenwood H2A does not do this.

I listened to US-1, Moving EZ, The Rock, The Bridge, Country Road, Vista, The Beat, not necessarily in that order. But I moved around for testing purposes and listed to music from each of these streams. I listened to each unit for about an hour and half. You all know already, I am no audiophile. I was only able to tell very slight differences.. I mean very slight. It seems that the Audiovox may have a tad bit better separation. Overall its just too close to call. They both sound great to my ears.

Perhaps someone with a better ears for subtle differences will do some testing. In regards to sound being a deciding factor in your purchase I just think its too close to call between these two. But again that is my opinion with my own ears, which just aren't that sensitive.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 07-27-2003, 05:50 PM   #15
roscoryan
Site Editor / Moderator
Audiovox Shuttle Review by DAB
 
roscoryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 23, 2002
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 2,811
roscoryan will become famous soon enoughroscoryan will become famous soon enough
Default

Hey DAB, great review.

I'm in a hurry, so I didn't get to read everything as through as possible. Couple questions:

1) How would you compare the sizes of the cradles with those of the SKYFi?

2) Has home reception improved over the H2A?
__________________
Visit the NEW community for all things Digital Radio, including SIRIUS:



http://www.DigitalRadioCentral.com
roscoryan is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.