Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Radios & Receivers This is the place to talk about all the high-tech SIRIUS radios: Kenwood, Pioneer, Clarion, JVC, Alpine, Audiovox, Sony, XACT, and more!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 12-08-2006, 05:14 PM   #1
Sirius05
Mixologist
 
Join Date: Feb 27, 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 324
Sirius05 is on a distinguished road
Question Need ya'lls opinion is this please!!!!

Hi ya'll.. anyways here is what i need your help and opinion on:
In july of this year, i got a brand new JVC KDG320 Sirius ready, mp3, ipod, etc, etc, etc... head unit. Everyday afterwards my unit and all seems to be working perfectly. Then when we got the new updates later on, my unit would be updating but wouldn't ever finish updating successfully,it would never complete or even get to 100%. So i never got the updates that other people got. But anyways, a month or 2 later I got an error message like antenna not detected, no signal, etc... so after i first got those messages, i did a hard reset.. After the rest, everything starting working fine for now. Then a few weeks later, i got a reset 8 message. So i turned my receiver off and back on, did a reset and then everything again starting working fine for now. Then i got another reset 8 message, i did another hard reset. Took out my receiver, unpluged/plugged back in the cords connecting from the sirius tuner to my head unit. Afterwards, i turned my unit back on and nothing, my head unit wouldn't recognize my sirius radio at all. I pressed the sirius button, still nothing. Not able to listen to my sirius but am able to only listen to terrestrial radio. So i listen to that for a few days, then today took my unit to best buy where i got it professionally installed back in july. Well since my unit has and is still under the 1 year warranty, best buy replaced my unit with a brand new one and installed it again. They tested it out and it works perfectly now. So my question is.. do ya'll think that my first jvc unit i had installed back in july of this year was a defect? cause on this new unit i got today, everything is working perfectly fine now. So i was just wondering about that and wanted to read and see what your opinions on this was. Thanks and look forward to hear what ya'll have to say..

Sirius RULES!!!!!!!!


Steve
__________________
Xbox360 Live Gamertag: CoochieTime GP

Last edited by Sirius05; 12-08-2006 at 08:57 PM..
Sirius05 is offline  
 
 
Old 12-09-2006, 03:43 AM   #2
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Need ya'lls opinion is this please!!!!
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

It is highly possible that your JVC1 was defective. One thing I would have tried that you may not have (at least I did see where you said you did) I would have reset the head unit itself while the CD Din cable was disconnected. This would have cleared everything out and started out just like it was new out of the box. Then plug the CD Din cable from the SIRIUS Connect JVC1 tuner. If you still had the problem after that, there is little doubt the tuner is defective. The reset 8 message is an error that indictes the Sirius Tuner and head unit are not communicating. I've seen this fixed with as little effort as plugging and unplugging the tuner. But I have also seen the necessity to do a hard reset of the head unit too.

You did the right thing taking it back to BB. This way you know whatever was needed they did it and now you are back in business. I hope it continues to work for you. I just recently removed my JVC1 from my truck and went with the Stiletto. Not nearly as clean of an install, but I sure love having all the features.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-09-2006, 04:15 AM   #3
Sirius05
Mixologist
 
Join Date: Feb 27, 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 324
Sirius05 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
It is highly possible that your JVC1 was defective. One thing I would have tried that you may not have (at least I did see where you said you did) I would have reset the head unit itself while the CD Din cable was disconnected. This would have cleared everything out and started out just like it was new out of the box. Then plug the CD Din cable from the SIRIUS Connect JVC1 tuner. If you still had the problem after that, there is little doubt the tuner is defective. The reset 8 message is an error that indictes the Sirius Tuner and head unit are not communicating. I've seen this fixed with as little effort as plugging and unplugging the tuner. But I have also seen the necessity to do a hard reset of the head unit too.

You did the right thing taking it back to BB. This way you know whatever was needed they did it and now you are back in business. I hope it continues to work for you. I just recently removed my JVC1 from my truck and went with the Stiletto. Not nearly as clean of an install, but I sure love having all the features.

Thanks for your rapid responses man, it really helped me out a lot. So anyways, do you think that it is a possiblity like 99.99% chance that u did have a defective receiver? Cause the got at best buy said the same thing, that my sirius jvc head unit wasn't recognizing my head unit so do you think in your opinion that, that was the problem,that i had a defective head unit? Also, since it works perfectly fine now. is there anything i need to worry about this, or i dont need to worry since its working fine now? Thanks again and look forward to hearing what you have to say.


Steve
__________________
Xbox360 Live Gamertag: CoochieTime GP
Sirius05 is offline  
 
 
Old 12-10-2006, 02:20 PM   #4
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Need ya'lls opinion is this please!!!!
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

If it is working fine now I wouldn't worry about it. I dont think this has as much to do with your head unit as it does the JVC1 Sirius Connect Tuner.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Is Your Opinion On The CMA Award Performance Song List? goreds2 SIRIUS Country 1 11-07-2006 09:52 AM
Best PNP unit in your opinion!! cargobrian Radios & Receivers 16 01-13-2005 07:41 AM
Vote your Opinion on the JVC PNP Manco Radios & Receivers 15 03-18-2004 09:51 AM
Opinion of U.S. Abroad Is Falling TX WJ The Doghouse 6 03-17-2004 03:46 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.