Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Stiletto Stiletto...it's not just for shoes. Come here to talk about the new SL2, the SL100, or the SL10. Share tips, tricks and pointers, all available via WiFi...just like your music!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 05:26 PM   #1
matt357nyc
Just Tuned In
 
Join Date: Mar 23, 2005
Posts: 5
matt357nyc is on a distinguished road
Post Stiletto problems/Review.

I bought may Stiletto two days ago for $370.00 that’s with the tax. First off Sirius could have packaged it simpler and saved the consumer some money. The unit in my opinion is not very heavy. I do not like the color white on the back portion and you easily get finger prints over the glossy front. The unit came with two sets of headphones, the first set has a build in satellite antenna at the top and they look like they are right out the 80's. I really don't like the idea of satellite waves going right to the top of my head. The entire flat top is the antenna. The manual said the unit and antenna area should be 1.3 cm away from the body or something like that. I guess the idea of having a mini satellite dish on the top of my head is scary. I think I would never use them because of the style and they are not comfortable. The second set of plain ear buds are nice with a great sound quality. The graphics are nice and the unit is very easy to navigate. The Wi-Fi is not my thing, too much buffing and I can’t get that every where. The sound started to skip real bad twice and it was not a satellite interruption cause I was using the MP3 at the time. I had to take the battery off both times to get it to go back to normal. Maybe the buttons stuck, but I think it was a glitch in the software. I heard that some units have also been freezing up on people. In my city (80,000) I get very very little reception with out the tumor headphones lol, when I go to a larger city with repeaters its ok until I go very deep into a building then it cuts out.

My personal pros:

1. Ear buds with two sets of foam covers.
2. Two batteries (One slim line and the other a little larger)
3. USB cable included.
4. The software to sync songs from you computer is easy to use.
5. It’s almost like a 2MB or 1.5MB I-POD.
6. Easy to use buttons with good locations.
7. Lock button. Locks all functions.


My personal cons: ( "simply just user prferences") as DAB would say.

1. No clock or date.
2. Could have more memory for the price.
3. Bad color.
4. The antenna headphones are terrible.
5. No clip.
6. No case.
7. No dock.
8. The $15 activation should be waived for what the consumer pays.
9. Not a real 2MB of MP3 storage.
I could go on but I’m tired of typing.




I will close with this. If you where to buy a 2MB I –Pod that's $149.99 so that takes the unit down to $200.00, the other stuff it’s comes with and packaging around $40-$50. So unless you what to wear the 80's headphones or you live in a city with reapeaters the reception sucks. I guess you could record stern and then listen whenever.

Last edited by matt357nyc; 11-05-2006 at 06:28 PM..
matt357nyc is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:03 PM   #2
de
Top Dog Member
 
de's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, 2003
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 1,859
de is on a distinguished road
Default

First off, welcome to Backstage. I agree with your first 'con', and I'm hoping it's something that will be addressed with a firmware update, since there is a clock display on the recording setup page.

My main gripe with your review is that the antenna headphones are passive; they don't send any type of signal out. I'd be much more concerned about using a cellphone to my ear.

When the MP3 skipped, it didn't happen to be the same file? It seems like that issue could be a bad MP3 file.
de is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:13 PM   #3
matt357nyc
Just Tuned In
 
Join Date: Mar 23, 2005
Posts: 5
matt357nyc is on a distinguished road
Post Reply

So those headphones are 100% safe? If so, my stupidly then. It was different MP3 files both times. I was hitting one of the buttons and the song started to skip and go nuts. I disconnected the battery and it reset the unit. Do you know is the entire unit 2Mb or is the replay different storage from the MP3. I had about 25 MP3 files saved and it showed 7% used. How much space would let’s say a Stern show take up?
matt357nyc is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:18 PM   #4
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto problems/Review.
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

2 gig memory is divided up among "LOVE" songs, Radio Replays, MP3/WMA's and Scheduled Recordings. There are limits on some of them, which is all listed in the manual.

The headphones are safe and other than being uncomfortable, they do the job.

Some of the items in your con list are simply just user prferences, which in my opinion doesn't really make them legit cons.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:26 PM   #5
matt357nyc
Just Tuned In
 
Join Date: Mar 23, 2005
Posts: 5
matt357nyc is on a distinguished road
Post

I changed both to my personal pros and my personal cons. Dam you guys are tuff lol
matt357nyc is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:40 PM   #6
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto problems/Review.
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt357nyc
I changed both to my personal pros and my personal cons. Dam you guys are tuff lol
That looks better!! Thanks for your personal review. I think reviews where folks share their real time experience are the most valuable to help people make a decision about rather to purchase.

We don't really like the in store demo reviews (where you try it in the store them come write a review) or those that have the device for 3 or 4 hours and tell us how bad it is, so bad in fact they returned it. LOL

Welcome to SBS!
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:58 PM   #7
obk
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 16, 2006
Posts: 500
obk is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
That looks better!! Thanks for your personal review. I think reviews where folks share their real time experience are the most valuable to help people make a decision about rather to purchase.

We don't really like the in store demo reviews (where you try it in the store them come write a review) or those that have the device for 3 or 4 hours and tell us how bad it is, so bad in fact they returned it. LOL

Welcome to SBS!
How about personal reviews after 20 minutes of use (or in store use reviews) that are glowing about the product, are those OK?
I broke down and ordered the car dock from crutchfield today, can't wait to use it in the car without my computer speakers and the headphone stuck in the sun roof.
obk is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 07:05 PM   #8
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto problems/Review.
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obk
How about personal reviews after 20 minutes of use (or in store use reviews) that are glowing about the product, are those OK?
What do you think? Are they okay, do they really have much credibility? I think it cuts both ways. But how many of those have you seen posted on this forum? Can you point me to a dozen or so like we've seen on the ones that have nothing but negative to say?
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 08:27 PM   #9
obk
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 16, 2006
Posts: 500
obk is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
What do you think? Are they okay, do they really have much credibility? I think it cuts both ways. But how many of those have you seen posted on this forum? Can you point me to a dozen or so like we've seen on the ones that have nothing but negative to say?

Damn, it seems the internet is not the best place for sarcasm. I tried the sarcastic smilie but to no avail. sorry for the inconvenience.
obk is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 08:35 PM   #10
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto problems/Review.
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obk
Damn, it seems the internet is not the best place for sarcasm. I tried the sarcastic smilie but to no avail. sorry for the inconvenience.
LOL, this is true sarcasm doesn't always play off as intended. Plus you being a fairly new poster makes it even harder since I don't know your posting style. I'll be on the look at for your sarcasms now.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-05-2006, 09:14 PM   #11
matt357nyc
Just Tuned In
 
Join Date: Mar 23, 2005
Posts: 5
matt357nyc is on a distinguished road
Post

I was hitting one of the buttons and the song started to skip and go nuts. I disconnected the battery and it reset the unit. It was different MP3 files both times. What could it be?
matt357nyc is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Thrasherduck Stiletto 100 Review Thrasherduck Stiletto 75 01-05-2007 02:26 PM
Stiletto Antenna Superior to Others zaj Stiletto 23 10-19-2006 04:47 PM
Life with my Stiletto - My Thoughts me_rubin Stiletto 12 10-09-2006 05:39 PM
Stiletto review from an s50 / Inno owner cyclopsebunny Stiletto 31 10-04-2006 10:19 PM
Stiletto FAQs are up... jmcn72 Stiletto 3 09-26-2006 04:42 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.