Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Stiletto Stiletto...it's not just for shoes. Come here to talk about the new SL2, the SL100, or the SL10. Share tips, tricks and pointers, all available via WiFi...just like your music!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 08:28 AM   #1
realwx
Banned
 
realwx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 26, 2005
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 2,554
realwx is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to realwx Send a message via MSN to realwx Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
Default Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...

...and puts it in the P.O.S. category.

http://tinyurl.com/yzhd5q
realwx is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 09:20 AM   #2
jon01
Sirius Star
 
jon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 27, 2004
Location: long island, ny
Posts: 1,512
jon01 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to jon01 Send a message via MSN to jon01 Send a message via Yahoo to jon01
Default

jeez, little negative who cares, i like it

- Jon
__________________
Sportster 5 with car kit
sirius subscriber since august 2004
Proud iPhone owner
jon01 is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 09:36 AM   #3
badmotherfarker
Top Dog Member
Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
 
Join Date: Dec 03, 2005
Posts: 7,335
badmotherfarker has a spectacular aura aboutbadmotherfarker has a spectacular aura aboutbadmotherfarker has a spectacular aura about
Default

It's all about where you live.
badmotherfarker is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 09:38 AM   #4
sunmorgus
Channel Surfer
 
Join Date: Nov 03, 2006
Posts: 16
sunmorgus is on a distinguished road
Default

Just goes to show you you should never trust a review. Pick one up for yourself and try it, I absolutely love mine. He complains about the 802.11b being too slow, but honestly, how much speed do you need to transmit streaming radio? I can guarantee that you will never use all of the bandwidth you have available with 11b to cause any real issues. Distance may be your only concern...but I have had no issues with that either. And duh you aren't going to get any satellite reception inside, unless the antenna is sitting next to a window, you would think that somebody who is a self-proclaimed "biggest satellite radio fanboy in the world" would realize that. I couldn't even bring myself to finish the review.
sunmorgus is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 12:37 PM   #5
bclbob
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Oct 17, 2004
Posts: 650
bclbob is on a distinguished road
Default

the problem with it being 802.11b is that basically one device being (b) means that your wireless (g) slows down to (b) speeds. so it basically affects your whole wifi network
__________________
Welcome back FOX News and hello FOX Newstalk
bclbob is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 01:22 PM   #6
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bclbob
the problem with it being 802.11b is that basically one device being (b) means that your wireless (g) slows down to (b) speeds. so it basically affects your whole wifi network
Oh like that is really going to be a major slow down for internet users... The slow down is so minimal that most won't even notice a difference.

The review is down right pathetic!!!
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 02:58 PM   #7
hvacigar
Channel Surfer
 
hvacigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 90
hvacigar is on a distinguished road
Default

No, I do not write for Gizmodo...but their review does sound vaguely familiar to my points made on here. After more weeks with the device, I have found a happy medium with it...but only after receiving the car and home docks. Reception just isn't there for me...but for a head to head update with the Inno...in areas of repeaters for both services, the reception was the same inside and outside buildings in downtown Portland. I have to agree with Gizmodo though...I think the Stiletto was rushed and not well thought out. The car kit, on the other hand, is wonderful.
__________________
"I wish that song hadn't picked us as its catalysts, and so I don't claim it. It asks too much. (very long pause). I didn't write that song." -Thom Yorke on writing Radiohead's fantastic song Street Spirit
hvacigar is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 07:53 PM   #8
pto
Loyal Listener
 
Join Date: Dec 01, 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 191
pto is on a distinguished road
Default

Does anyone know what the heck Gizmodo was thinking when they said the SL100 has a stock ticker?
pto is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 08:27 PM   #9
Sirius_Rich
Top Dog Member

Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
 
Sirius_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 28, 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 4,364
Sirius_Rich has a spectacular aura aboutSirius_Rich has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via AIM to Sirius_Rich Send a message via Yahoo to Sirius_Rich Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pto
Does anyone know what the heck Gizmodo was thinking when they said the SL100 has a stock ticker?
Either he did not spend enough time reviewing the product and it features or he had it on CNBC, channel 129.
__________________

LISTENING 100% COMMERCIAL FREE SINCE '03
Sirius_Rich is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 08:37 PM   #10
Charliec
Channel Surfer
 
Join Date: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 72
Charliec is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Whats this reviewer smoking?

That was one of the lamest reviews I have ever read. "Was like a brick in my hands". Where does that comparison come from. That is so far from the truth it makes me sick. When you see trump lines like that in a review you have to question the reviewers integrity.

The part about the WI-FI and b shows again the reviewer knows nothing about what he is writing. You will NEVER use the bandwith that the wireless B protocal gives, you case closed. If it was a G or N protocal it would make absolutly NO difference.

Reception is really related to your location. For the reviewer to imply that the reception on the Stiletto is terrible is again a false statement. I get perfect reception in rural PA. I used my Stiletto in the car with the antenna head set on the rear view window mirror and it was perfect. Yet in his review he leads the readers to believe the reception would be bad for all. Total BS.

Someone please copy and pate this to his site as I would not even waste the energy to register there.

Charlie C
Charliec is offline  
 
 
Old 11-07-2006, 09:06 PM   #11
Skinnytoo
Channel Surfer
 
Skinnytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 04, 2006
Posts: 27
Skinnytoo is on a distinguished road
Default

CharlieC....I concur!!!! Love my stiletto!!
__________________










Skinnytoo is offline  
 
 
Old 11-08-2006, 12:47 AM   #12
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvacigar
Reception just isn't there for me. I think the Stiletto was rushed and not well thought out.
Reception is equal between the Inno and Stiletto for me. But because I have tons of problems getting home reception for XM vs SIRIUS does that mean that everyone will have the same experience. That seems to be what this review is saying and I agree with Charlie C it is BS.

I totally disagree with you and this reviewer. There is zero evidence to indicate that this device was rushed out or not well though out. You are doing much of what this reviewer did and that is to make general statements that sounds good, but lacks any real evidence to support it.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-08-2006, 09:33 AM   #13
hvacigar
Channel Surfer
 
hvacigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 90
hvacigar is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
Reception is equal between the Inno and Stiletto for me. But because I have tons of problems getting home reception for XM vs SIRIUS does that mean that everyone will have the same experience. That seems to be what this review is saying and I agree with Charlie C it is BS.

I totally disagree with you and this reviewer. There is zero evidence to indicate that this device was rushed out or not well though out. You are doing much of what this reviewer did and that is to make general statements that sounds good, but lacks any real evidence to support it.
Once again, those are my opinions (and apparently this writer's as well). The reception is not there for ME. I did qualify my statement by saying where a repeater was involved, the Inno and the Stiletto were equals, but we all know how that comparison ends (and it is not favorable for Sirius). I don't really call the Stiletto a "Portable Live Receiver". Maybe the term "Part-time Portable Live Receiver" works better....but it doesn't even qualify for health insurance . Either way, I think the reviewer is doing what I did in my first impression of the product....he was saying that compared to other consumer electronics (ipod, other mp3 players, Inno, etc) this thing does feel like a brick. I think his comments were as a "first time feel", and I can understand his frustration with reception if he lives in an area like mine (and I don't live in BFE).
__________________
"I wish that song hadn't picked us as its catalysts, and so I don't claim it. It asks too much. (very long pause). I didn't write that song." -Thom Yorke on writing Radiohead's fantastic song Street Spirit
hvacigar is offline  
 
 
Old 11-08-2006, 10:47 AM   #14
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Gizmodo reviews the Stiletto...
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hvacigar
Once again, those are my opinions (and apparently this writer's as well). Maybe the term "Part-time Portable Live Receiver" works better.this thing does feel like a brick. (and I don't live in BFE).
You are correct reviews are nothing more than opinions and therefore they can be wrong just as opinions are.

This is no part-time portable any more than XM's tuners are part-time tuners. I feel many of us have more freedom today. I can't go sit in Coffee House listening XM, but I can with my Stiletto via Wifi. That is just one of many places, I've been able to use it. That in itself makes this device even more portable for me. I can say the same about the various offices I work through-out the week.

Some have found reception hit or miss that is simply where the technology is overall with both services. I live in a rural area about as rural as you can get without being in BFE and sitting out on my patio or walking my dogs I get reception just fine. Does this mean every one will, NO! In fact I warned folks before this device was released not to expect magical reception. This review reads as if the reviewer is saying, well because reception sucks for me that means it will probably suck for you too, again just not true.

The term feels like a brick is just straight up BS. There are MP3 players out there that are as big if not bigger. Try the Creative Zen Vision:M, I could name more recently released electronics that are comparible in size. If a reviewer wanted to make the case that it was bigger than XM's offering I like the term cNet use when they called it a bit chunky. It is far from being a brick and the one thing that you and this reviewer can't get around is that apparently not many people that actually own this device feel that way. To me a brick is too big to stick in my pocket or to carry around with me comfortably and that is simply not true of the Stiletto. It is a poor term and totally inappropriate for this device. I don't think anyone would deny it is larger than the Inno. Too bad this reviewer decided to use the same terns that XM trolls have been using for years and in the end it is just a totally bogus statement.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox

Last edited by DAB; 11-08-2006 at 10:55 AM..
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 11-08-2006, 11:13 AM   #15
noshooz
Mixologist
 
Join Date: Sep 03, 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 383
noshooz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to noshooz
Default

I'll agree that this was not a good review. Of course indoor satellite reception is spotty/non-existent. Duh. I hardly find the 32k wi-fi stream "absolutely horrible." It's not the best, but I don't mind it. I absolutely love my Stiletto.
__________________
Stiletto 100 (2) (SIR Premium for both, home kit, car kit), Soloist, Sportster Replay & Boombox, SV-1.
noshooz is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Thrasherduck Stiletto 100 Review Thrasherduck Stiletto 75 01-05-2007 02:26 PM
Stiletto 10 any reviews? rustytrombone Stiletto 22 11-05-2006 05:16 PM
Life with my Stiletto - My Thoughts me_rubin Stiletto 12 10-09-2006 05:39 PM
Stiletto review from an s50 / Inno owner cyclopsebunny Stiletto 31 10-04-2006 10:19 PM
Stiletto FAQs are up... jmcn72 Stiletto 3 09-26-2006 04:42 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.