Digital Radio Central - Sponsored by TSS Radio
  DRC Home Page DRC Forums Contact Us  
 
SIRIUS Backstage Forum
 
 
 
  Sirius Satellite Radio XM Satellite Radio iTunes/iPod Slacker Pandora  
 
 
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  
Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >
Visit Digital Radio Central

Notices

Stiletto Stiletto...it's not just for shoes. Come here to talk about the new SL2, the SL100, or the SL10. Share tips, tricks and pointers, all available via WiFi...just like your music!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 04:36 PM   #1
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB

I received my Stiletto Boombox today. I have been waiting on the release of this boombox. While I listen in offices, in my company van, personal truck and even at home. I am far from a home body, so having a boombox to be able to listen to my Stiletto during family gatherings outdoors and on the go is a must have. This isn't something I do just during the summer or spring. Living in the south during the winter is like living in the north during the summer, so it is great time of the year for outdoor activities.

The boombox is solid black with silver flat buttons and a cool silver Sirius and Dog Logo right on the top. Looks really cool. I really like the design of the boombox it almost seems as if it was designed after the iPod Hi-Fi. It has the square boxy look with the handles built into each side. Though the size of the unit is much, much smaller and lighter than the iPod Hi-Fi, it was a tad bit bigger than I expected. But overall the size is good.

The buttons on the top of the boombox are flat, but seem fairly tactile. The buttons on the left include bass boost, Sat/Aux and on the right side volume up/down and power.They have blue lights in them, but those lights only come on when you actually push the buttons on the unit or remote if you have a home or car dock. There is a headphone jack and aux-input on the front of the unit. There is also lock so that you can lock your Stiletto into the Boombox. This is a smart move considering that the handles are on each side and you may just grab one side and lug it around. This way you know your Stiletto won't come flying out of it as it is being moved around. On the rear there is a place to mount the including home antenna, along with winding the cord. In that same location is the power and antenna connector. These are not in very good locations, especially if you had the antenna cord wound in the holder. But nothing that can't be dealt with. On the bottom there is a door for installing the required 8 "D" cell batteries.

I know, now you are thinking... so how does it sound. I had high hopes for the sound considering the specs, which indicate a nominal output power per channel 5 watts RMS x 2 and 10 watts x 1 Sub-woofer, @ 30W total peak music power. I must say that the SQ has not let me down. I was really surprised how crisp the highs are and the bass response is really nice. In fact I think there maybe some that will feel the boombox has too much bass. I love the bass boost because at low volume when your music needs that little extra kick you can push this button and get it. I found listening at higher volumes with the bass boost on, made the bass get a bit muddy sounding. I tested it at lower volume and higher volumes and overall I am was very pleased with the results.

Now the next question, can you record using the boombox? If you hit the power button on the boombox or remote Stiletto then it goes to sleep, but the problem is that the dock then is no longer power so it will not record. However, if you leave the boombox power and just use the button on the side of the Stiletto to put it in sleep mode, it will come on and and perform the scheduled recording. You will not see any visible indication that it is recording, but it does record. I verified this by checking the play-list after and it is there. I am still testing recording and will report back after I finish. I did encounter one issue and it maybe have been something I did, so I am just wanting to do more testing. Seems after it finishes recording the Stiletto then comes on, instead of just remaining off. So if you had your volume turned up it can be very startling to say the least. Again I want to verify this before I say for sure. (EDIT) I have now verified this with multiple recordings. For whatever reason the Stiletto comes on and starts playing from the channel it was recording when the recording is completed. Seems like a bug to me and I plan to report it. Also a correction, you do not have to leave the boombox power on in order to record, it will power up when the time comes to record.

Overall I really like the Stiletto Boombox. It is certainly a keeper for me. I have a gathering this weekend and you can bet the Stiletto Boombox will get it first real test at that time. I think the quality as well as the layout and design are really nice. This truly adds other whole level of portability to the Stiletto 10 and Stiletto 100. My one complaint would be that it did not come with a remote, but I have a few of them now and I don't really use a remote in the car, so for me it isn't a deal killer.

I think at this point I still find the home dock to be the best bet for simple easy recording. So you may want to consider that if you thought about getting the boombox instead of the home dock. This of course is just my opinion others may feel differently.

I am really invested in the Stiletto. I now have a car dock in my company van, a car dock in my personal truck, home dock on my desk at home, Soloist in my bedroom and now the Stiletto Boombox. There is practically no where I can go now that I can't take my Stiletto with me and enjoy some tunes rather live, via wifi or recorded replays and library. I am set Dawgs

Here are some pictures:



__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox

Last edited by DAB; 12-01-2006 at 06:57 PM..
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 06:13 PM   #2
realwx
Banned
 
realwx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 26, 2005
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 2,554
realwx is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to realwx Send a message via MSN to realwx Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
Default

That thing is big... but cool! Thanks for the review. Does the remote work with the boombox?
realwx is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 06:27 PM   #3
Vargas
Sirius Star
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
Join Date: Dec 05, 2005
Location: Western, PA
Posts: 1,886
Vargas will become famous soon enoughVargas will become famous soon enough
Default

Dab:

How loud does it get. It is loud enough for say a small party or is it more for just office play/background noise?
Vargas is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 06:54 PM   #4
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by realwx
That thing is big... but cool! Thanks for the review. Does the remote work with the boombox?
Not that big... 19.2" x 8.8" x 8". If anything I would say it is wide, but for the excellent sound it puts out I have NO issues with the size... NONE, ZERO, NADA!!!

Yes the remote controls all the function of the Stilleto and on the boombox it controls the power and volume. It will not switch between aux-input and sat mode or control the bass boost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vargas
Dab:

How loud does it get. It is loud enough for say a small party or is it more for just office play/background noise?
I think it would be just fine for a party as long as everyone is in a big room. You'll more than likely have to turn off the bass boost though, because at that loud volume there is plenty of bass without it and having it on would probably cause distortion. Like with most boomboxes and amplified speakers the louder your get the more distortion that is introduced, but this sucker will get very, very loud. I personally fine where it really shines is listening to it a medium volume with the bass boost kicking! This would be plenty loud at most parties I go too, because we generally just like some background music, but don't care to have it blaring. I've got two outtings planned for this weekend, so I'll be able to say how it works in both the indoor and outdoor environment.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox

Last edited by DAB; 12-01-2006 at 06:59 PM..
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 09:00 PM   #5
sportboy
Loyal Listener
 
Join Date: Jul 06, 2005
Posts: 234
sportboy is on a distinguished road
Default

It must just be the picture, it looks like you could play football on the top of that thing.
sportboy is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 09:14 PM   #6
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportboy
It must just be the picture, it looks like you could play football on the top of that thing.
Yes and the worse part is having to roll it around in a wheel barrel!
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 10:07 PM   #7
me_rubin
Top Dog Member
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
me_rubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 17, 2006
Location: Herndon VA
Posts: 3,545
me_rubin is a jewel in the roughme_rubin is a jewel in the roughme_rubin is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via MSN to me_rubin Send a message via Yahoo to me_rubin Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
Default

DAB thanks for the review. Where did you get your's from? Is TSS shipping yet?

What is supplied? Remote? Antenna? Aux Cables?

I assume it can still work via WiFi? as well as use the Stiletto's built in antenna.

Is the manual posted anywhere?

Can the 8 D's be the rechargable ones?

Thanks for posting pictures.
me_rubin is offline  
 
 
Old 12-01-2006, 11:51 PM   #8
DoublEE
Sirius Star
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
Join Date: Jan 07, 2006
Posts: 2,921
DoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of light
Default

I really don't get why they couldn't design the Soloist or the Boombox to provide power to record in the sleep mode (like the home dock.)

Seems like Sirius is trying to force everyone to buy a home dock in addition to any other product.

And I'm still amazed they couldn't include a remote for this thing.
DoublEE is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 01:16 AM   #9
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by me_rubin
DAB thanks for the review. Where did you get your's from? Is TSS shipping yet?
I was planning to get one from TSS, but decided to go ahead and get it from Crutchfield. I normally wait on TSS, but I've got a lot of holiday activities planned and I really, really wanted one of these, so I figured I better go for it. I got it at the sale price, but I had referred someone to Crutchfield and I had $20 off to use. So I ended up getting it for $107.49.

Quote:
What is supplied? Remote? Antenna? Aux Cables?
Home Antenna, AC Adapter (power cube) and cord. It does not come with any aux-cables or remote.

Quote:
I assume it can still work via WiFi? as well as use the Stiletto's built in antenna.
Yes the Internet Radio works just fine, the Stiletto if you notice in the picture sort of sit up above the top, so it gets a clear signal without issue.

Quote:
Is the manual posted anywhere?
I've not seen the manual online, but the one that comes with it is pretty meager.

Quote:
Can the 8 D's be the rechargable ones?
I assume that you can, but of course it doesn't have the ability to charge them, so you'll have to remove them and charge them with an external charger. I plan to buy some good alkalines and test it out very soon to see what kind of life Ill get with it on battery. I suspect it won't be very good, unless on battery the amp actually goes into some sort of battery saver mode by reducting the output. I know the iPod Hi-Fi did this on battery power and this was to get as much battery life as you could and yet maintain sound.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DoublEE
I really don't get why they couldn't design the Soloist or the Boombox to provide power to record in the sleep mode (like the home dock.)

Seems like Sirius is trying to force everyone to buy a home dock in addition to any other product.

And I'm still amazed they couldn't include a remote for this thing.
Well actually after further recording test, I found out that if you power down the boombox it will actually come on and record. So, I need to correct that in my review as I have now verified that for sure. However there is a bug I think because after it gets through recording instead of just going back into the off mode, it actually powers up the unit and start playing the channel it was recording.

I agree it should have had a remote included. The name of the game though with these product is selling accessories. Look at how huge the iPod accessory business is. This is why they don't even include AC power adapters with iPods anymore, so I am not surprised to see SIRIUS and Directed doing this.

One other test I did tonight was to test the aux-input and it is much, much better than the Soloist. The sound is great and the bass boost actually worked with the aux-input as well. I test it with my iPod and XM tuners.

I can see I am going to enjoy having the boombox in my arsenal of Stiletto Accessories.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox

Last edited by DAB; 12-02-2006 at 01:21 AM..
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 03:04 AM   #10
taxi
Channel Surfer
 
taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 06, 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 31
taxi is on a distinguished road
Default

Just purchsed mine from Crutchfield.... Wondering what the battery life will be on this thing... hoping it is more than a few hours... I am sure someone will post battery results soon
__________________
Stiletto 2 w/ modified car dock, soloist, home dock, & boom box... S50 Thing rocks never had an issue
Samsung Helix
taxi is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 03:13 AM   #11
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Some other tidbits I found out from reading the manual.

If the Boombox is left on with no sound for a period of 10 minutes it will turn the power off automatically. When off the power indicator will be red, when on it will be blue.

The boombox will charge the docked Stiletto, but only while on AC power. It will not charge while on Battery power.

It gives the following two warnings; When switching between power operation modes (AC or Battery) the Boombox and Stiletto radio should be power off. When installing or removing the Stiletto from the Boombox Dock the Stiletto and Booombox should be powered off.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 09:24 AM   #12
DoublEE
Sirius Star
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
Join Date: Jan 07, 2006
Posts: 2,921
DoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
Well actually after further recording test, I found out that if you power down the boombox it will actually come on and record. So, I need to correct that in my review as I have now verified that for sure. However there is a bug I think because after it gets through recording instead of just going back into the off mode, it actually powers up the unit and start playing the channel it was recording.

I agree it should have had a remote included. The name of the game though with these product is selling accessories. Look at how huge the iPod accessory business is. This is why they don't even include AC power adapters with iPods anymore, so I am not surprised to see SIRIUS and Directed doing this.

One other test I did tonight was to test the aux-input and it is much, much better than the Soloist. The sound is great and the bass boost actually worked with the aux-input as well. I test it with my iPod and XM tuners.

I can see I am going to enjoy having the boombox in my arsenal of Stiletto Accessories.
One little important fact here; Apple holds over 80% of the MP3 market share and has for years now. Basically people are beating down Apple's doors to buy iPods. Apple can get away with short-changing their customers.

Sirius on the other hand (like XM) is trying to get customers in a brand new technology. While their growth has been impressive, it's still not paying the bills. Sirius is still in the hole for over a half-billion dollars. They can't afford to get cheap with their customers.

Last edited by DoublEE; 12-02-2006 at 05:12 PM..
DoublEE is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 03:08 PM   #13
DAB
Site Editor / Moderator
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 08, 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 20,013
DAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura aboutDAB has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoublEE
Not everyone is an idiot like myself and will go through all of this and still shell out $350 for the Stiletto and an additional $140 for docks. Oh yes, and let's not forget the extra $40 I spent on a BB extended warranty because I refuse to go though Sirius Warranty any longer.

I really Love Sirius' product and I really want them to do well. But they really need to get their act together.
Eric this is a review thread.... Not the place to get on a rant about how you feel about SIRIUS's business practices. If you want to do that then I suggest you start another thread.

Don't get me wrong, I don't disagree with some of the things you wrote. I just don't want my thread hi-jacked talking about them. I think this is simply the new trend in electronics, so SIRIUS isn't the only one that lacks market and profitability giving just the bare necessites and forcing you to buy everything else. This thread is about the Stiletto Boombox, so lets discuss that, anything else goes in another topic.
__________________
DAB

Digital Radio Central (New Forum) http://www.digitalradiocentral.com/forum.php

Slacker G2 Premium (4gb-25 Stations), Home Dock
Delphi XpressRC with 2 Home, 2 Car Docks and XMBB1 Boombox
1st Gen, iPod Touch 32gb (Slacker and Pandora Apps) iKicker Boombox

Last edited by DAB; 12-02-2006 at 03:13 PM..
DAB is offline  
 
 
Old 12-02-2006, 05:11 PM   #14
DoublEE
Sirius Star
Stiletto Boombox Review by DAB
 
Join Date: Jan 07, 2006
Posts: 2,921
DoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of lightDoublEE is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAB
Eric this is a review thread.... Not the place to get on a rant about how you feel about SIRIUS's business practices. If you want to do that then I suggest you start another thread.

Don't get me wrong, I don't disagree with some of the things you wrote. I just don't want my thread hi-jacked talking about them. I think this is simply the new trend in electronics, so SIRIUS isn't the only one that lacks market and profitability giving just the bare necessites and forcing you to buy everything else. This thread is about the Stiletto Boombox, so lets discuss that, anything else goes in another topic.
I know, I know. My original point was going to be that Apple can get away with this and Sirius can not. Then the next thing you know I went on a crazy tangent. Let me say once again I love my Stiletto and I love Sirius; warts and all.

Thanks for the verbal spank DAB; I deserved it. In the interest of keeping things relevant and did a little editing to my OP.
DoublEE is offline  
 
 
Old 12-03-2006, 01:29 PM   #15
lronglien
Rocket Scientist
 
Join Date: Sep 11, 2003
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 606
lronglien is on a distinguished road
Default Stiletto remote

Alright, where do you buy a better remote than the one that came with the Soloist?
lronglien is offline  
 
 
 

Go Back   SIRIUS Backstage Forum > > >


Digitalradiocentral.com




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Thrasherduck Stiletto 100 Review Thrasherduck Stiletto 75 01-05-2007 03:26 PM
Stiletto review from an s50 / Inno owner cyclopsebunny Stiletto 31 10-04-2006 11:19 PM
Full Clarion Calypso Boombox Review eggbert52 Radios & Receivers 4 08-06-2005 09:48 AM
Xact Boombox Review DAB Radios & Receivers 20 12-16-2004 01:03 AM
Xact Deluxe boombox mini review w/ pics vansmack Radios & Receivers 1 10-12-2004 09:30 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.39 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
All Content Copyright SIRIUS Backstage. All Rights Reserved. SIRIUS and registered trademarks are the property of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc. The opinions posted on SIRIUS Backstage website and forums are those of the individual posters and/or this website and are not necessarily the opinions or positions of SIRIUS Satellite Radio, Inc.